Alabama State Sports 2K22 Hall of Fame Class Announced

Released by Alabama State Athletics,


MONTGOMERY, Ala. — The Alabama State University Sports Hall of Fame, has not presented any candidates for induction since 2000, and will be reactivated in 2022, connecting our illustrious history with our promising future. The Hall of Fame induction ceremonies will take place at Friday night November 11, 2022 on the campus of Alabama State University at the Dunn-Oliver Acadome from 6pm-9pm.

Alfredda AbernathyBrad BaxterDarnell KennedyLewis JacksonSteve RogersReggie BarlowReggie BrownRickey Jones
Alfredda AbernathyBrad BaxterDarnall Kennedy Lewis Jackson Steve RogersReggie BarlowReginald BrownRickey Jones
Shameka JacksonTavaris JacksonROBINSON HEADSHOTGeorge LockhartJohn Garrick-HardyOlean UnderwoodCharles MitchellCJ Dunn
Shameka JacksonTarvaris JacksonEddie Robinson Jr.George LockhartJohn Garrick-HardyOlean Black UnderwoodCharles Mitchell CJ Dunn

The 2022 induction class features 17 members from different decades including multiple leading scorers in basketball, a trio of quarterbacks who stand atop the record book, a record-breaking coach, and a national championship team.

Former women’s basketball player Alfredda Abernathy finished her career at Alabama State as the leading scorer in women’s basketball and was named AIAW All-Tournament all four years. Not only was Abernathy a scorer, she also grabbed over 1,000 career rebounds over a four-year period.

Brad Baxter was a three-time all-conference performer in the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) during his time at running back for the Hornets. He finished his career as the school’s all-time leading rusher and scored 30 career touchdowns. He later went on to an NFL career with the New York Jets. Former quarterback.

Darnell Kennedy finished his career as one of the most prolific passers in SWAC history over a four-year span. He finished with 11,753 yards and 102 touchdowns over a four-year period, completing 859 passes. He also piled 12,888 yards of total offense – both school records.

Lewis Jackson roamed the court for 15 years as head basketball coach for the Hornets basketball program. During his tenure, Jackson won two regular SWAC basketball championships (2008, 2009) and two SWAC tournament championships (2009, 2011). He led to Hornets to a total of four postseason appearances (two NCAA, one NIT appearance and one CIT). He was named SWAC Coach of the year in 2009. Jackson holds the rare distinction of winning Player of the Year (POY) and Coach of the Year COY honors in the same conference.

Steve Rogers finished his career as one of the most prolific scorers in SWAC history. He was a First-Team All-SWAC selection twice, earning Newcomer of the Year honors as a sophomore He was named SWAC Player of the Year and earned All-American honors in 1991 and 1992. Rogers finished his career with 2,471 points placing him third all-time at Alabama. He was a second-round draft choice of the New Jersey Nets.

Reggie Barlow finished his career at Alabama State as the third leading receiver at Alabama State. He hauled in 133 receptions for 2,536 yards with 17 touchdowns. His best season came in 1994 when he hauled in 58 passes for 1,267 yards and 12 touchdowns. Barlow would go on to win a Super Bowl with Tampa Bay before returning to his alma mater as the head coach.

Reginald Brown, a member of the 1991 HBCU National Championship team, finished his career just one catch behind fellow Hall of Fame selection Barlow. He finished with 132 receptions for 2,271 yards and 23 touchdowns. He recorded 48 receptions for 815 yards and eight touchdowns during the 1990 season.

Rickey Jones, who led Alabama State to the 1991 HBCU National Championship under center and f inished his career as the leader in total offense (he is currently second all-time) with 6,823 yards. He finished his career with 5,456 yards (passing) and 1,273 yards rushing, and he is second all-time in passing (including 49 touchdowns).

Shameka Jackson finished her career as one of the most prolific women’s basketball players in conference history. She earned Player of the Year honors in 2002-03 and was a three-time all-conference selection in her career. She became just the fourth player in conference history to score 2,000 points, finishing with 2,094 – the second-highest mark in conference history.

Former quarterback Tarvaris Jackson was inducted into the Ring of Honor earlier this season and is fourth all-time at the school in passing with 4,898 yards and 38 touchdowns. He also finished his career fourth in total offense with 5,709 total yards and recorded the third best passing season (2004) with 2,556 yards and 20 touchdowns.

Eddie Robinson, (Distinguished Sportsman) a two-time All-SWAC performer and a member of the 1991 HBCU National Championship team, finished his career as a two-time SWAC Defensive Player of the Year selection and Sheridan Black College All-American. He was named the Black College Sports Defensive Player of the Year in 1991 and was named a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy before being drafted in the second round of the NFL Draft by the Houston Oilers.

1991 Football - Houston Markham
1991 Alabama State Football SWAC Champions

The 1991 Alabama State football team captured the HBCU National Championship with an 11-0-1 record. The team scored four or more points five times in the season, and defeated North Carolina .   A&T in the Heritage Bowl to win the championship.

George Lockhart (Distinguished Administrator) was a long-time coach and administrator at Alabama State and started the baseball program in 1926. His name is on the current home of the Alabama State volleyball team.

John Garrick Hardy moved to Montgomery at the age of four and attended Alabama State beginning in ninth grade. He learned to play sports and musical instruments, and currently has the student center named after him on campus.

Olean Black Underwood attended Alabama State from 1968 to 1972 where they were no athletic programs for women. The tennis center for both men’s and women’s tennis stand in her name.

Charles Mitchell became the first player from Alabama State to be drafted into the National Football League (NFL). He later went on to become an assistant coach at Alabama State and a long-time high school coach in Michigan. While a student-athlete he was a quarterback and defensive back and intercepted 13 passes in his first year as a defensive back. He was also a punter and was the first Alabama State student-athlete named to the Blue-Gray Football Game.

Former men’s basketball coach CJ Dunn served Alabama State for 46 years over his career. He served as the baseball coach, basketball coach, and athletic director, while also serving as the Dean of Students and as a professor. During his time as the head basketball coach, the Hornets won 298 games, the most wins of any coach.

About Willie Alex Hines 5322 Articles
A lifelong sports fan and follower of HBCUs, Willie Alexander Hines is an expert on any sport with tremendous recall of history and newsmakers.