Howard has 27 Named to the NEC Spring Academic & Commissioner’s Honor Roll

By Derek W. Bryant, Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations & Sports Information – Howard


The Northeast Conference (NEC) unveiled its 2022 Spring Academic and Commissioner’s Honor Roll where Howard University saw 27 Bison recognized for their hard work inside the classroom. The announcement came Thursday afternoon.

The entire women’s golf team made the league’s academic honor roll while 20 members of the women’s lacrosse squad earned the same distinction.

Among this year’s recipients included Kaila Abrams (Derry, N.H.), Kendel Abrams (York, Pa.), Alexandra Broome (Bensville, Md.), Talia Coryat (Orlando, Fla.), Andrea Fievre (Snellville, Ga.), Logan Ford (Charlotte), Jessica Greene (Fruitland, Md.), Alayah Hightower (Mitchellville, Md.), Kendall Jackson (Pearland, Texas), Skylar Jennings (Philadelphia), Madison Joines (Winston-Salem, N.C.), Rania Jones (Alexandria, Va.), Sydney Kates (Cleveland), Josie Mallory (Charlottesville, Va.), Taylor Matthews (Tampa), Tyler Murray (Chicago), Jada Richardson (Suwanee, Ga.), Lailah Robey (Chesapeake Beach, Md.), Makenna Rodriguez (West Palm Beach, Fla.), Nailah Rusununguko-Taylor (Indianapolis), Raquel Simpson (Chicago) Quai Skeete-Ridley (New Carrollton, Md.), Morgan Taylor (Ellicott City, Md.), Madison Townsend (Lawrenceville, Ga.), Anya Waller (King of Prussia, Pa.), Kimora Williams (Marlton, N.J.) and Taylor Worsham (Severn, Md.).

Overall, more than 1,500 student-athletes earned a 3.20 grade point average (GPA) or better during the spring semester.

Additionally, over 500 student-athletes made the spring commissioner’s honor roll after producing a 3.75 GPA or above, including nine Bison (Coryat, Ford, Hightower, Jackson, Jennings, Matthews, Richardson, Rodriguez and Williams).

Over the course of the 2021-22 academic year, a league-record 3,826 NEC student-athletes landed a spot on the Academic Honor Roll, a 2.1 bump from last year’s all-time mark. That figure also represents over two-thirds of NEC competitors. Likewise, a record 1,473 student-athletes were named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll, an astronomical 26.0 percent jump from the previous standard set in 2020-21.

Jackson and Waller each received All-NEC postseason honors in their respective sports a year ago.

About Willie Alex Hines 3804 Articles
A lifelong sports fan and follower of HBCUs, Willie Alexander Hines is an expert on any sport with tremendous recall of history and newsmakers.